arcticfoki.blogg.se

The foxhole court
The foxhole court










  1. #THE FOXHOLE COURT MOVIE#
  2. #THE FOXHOLE COURT SERIES#

It is, but the thing is, I can see why he does it, and I think that’s a place where the novel really succeeds. I’ve read some complaints that Neil’s decision to join the Foxes is improbable.

#THE FOXHOLE COURT MOVIE#

This is the premise of practically every sports movie ever, and I’m looking forward to seeing how those relationships develop over the series. I think the only mistake here is thinking that Sakavic doesn’t know this she makes it very clear that the Foxes are the worst team in the league and that they simply do not function as a team, and they don’t. There are plenty of reviews complaining the team isn’t realistic enough: they wouldn’t be allowed to do drugs, to in-fight, to bully each other. She also made me care about her imaginary sport, which is impressive, since the only sport I’ve ever cared about is Quidditch (also imaginary I’m sensing a trend). I like that Exy is completely unique to the series, since it gives Sakavic all the room she needs to manipulate that world. Things happen when he’s on the page, and his relationship with Kevin is one of the most complex and inscrutable in the book. There’s nothing very likable about Andrew Minyard so far he does a number of things that are Not Okay, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t find him interesting (and let’s be real, I always love the most problematic characters).

the foxhole court

It takes a while for the nice characters to arrive and balance out the terrible ones. Personally, I found them fascinating, so I’m in this for the long haul. I was right in guessing that this is a hugely character driven novel, so if you’re not interested in the characters (notice I didn’t say if you don’t like them), then The Foxhole Court probably isn’t going to work for you. Neil is an exceptional narrator because he’s clever and he notices everything, even if he’s not quite sure what to make of it at the time. Occasionally, the prose gets a little overwhelming on the details, but for the most part, I found it well-written. The premise is quite original I can’t even think of another book to compare it to. Most of its reviews are extremely positive or extremely negative with little in between, and it seems that a lot of books that I consider really great end up that way. I can see why there are a lot of strong feelings about this book. I’m burning through them as fast as I did the first time, and I feel like I’m wholly immersed in Neil’s world while I’m reading. Thoughts: I always worry that my favorites aren’t going to hold up on a reread, but I didn’t need to worry about this series.

the foxhole court the foxhole court

Trigger warnings: death, parent death, abuse/abusive households, addiction, drugging, overdose, violence, injury, scars, threats, bullying, grief. Neil isn’t expecting to make friends, but the chance to play Exy professionally, even for a little while, is tempting enough to risk his anonymity and his life. The Foxes are made up of former drug addicts and criminals, kids who are on their last chances, and they’re the worst team in the league. When he’s pressured into joining the Palmetto State Foxes’ Exy team, he knows it’s only a matter of time before he’ll have to bail and disappear into a new life. I’m mostly driven by character novels, and this had all the makings of a good one.Ībout: Neil Josten has been on the run for most of his life. The only ones I can think of offhand are The Raven Cycle, Six of Crows, and maybe A Court of Thorns & Roses, and it’s especially impressive, as TFC is self-published.

#THE FOXHOLE COURT SERIES#

Second, third, fourth, whatever, as long as you get at least one more than what anyone else wanted to give you.’”Ĭontext: There are few book series that come across my dash as frequently as The Foxhole Court.












The foxhole court